Kershaw Scholarship

Kershaw Scholarship:

  • Are you a Paramedics Australasia (SA) member (and have been for more than 6 months)?
  • Are you a current SA Ambulance Service staff member (career or volunteer)?
  • Do you like travelling and research?
  • Are you interested in improving paramedic care delivery in South Australia and throughout Australasia?
  • Do you want to receive up to $7,000 funding towards travel expenses?
  • For approved topics, SAAS will also provide roster coverage and paid study leave! No need for ORL or shift swaps!

The Kershaw Scholarship is for you!

Kershaw Scholarship Applications open now, until 18 March 2016 – Apply Here

For more information – Frequently Asked Questions Here!

Co-sponsored by Paramedics Australiasia (SA) and SA Ambulance Service, this paramedic care scholarship provides the opportunity, through the provision of financial support, to research a process, system, or equipment currently being used in another organisation anywhere in the world for the ultimate benefit of the paramedic profession and SA Ambulance Service.

This scholarship intends to empower members to bring innovative ways of working back to South Australia and SAAS to share with your colleagues and potentially implement.

Who is Rod Kershaw?

(Glen Cuttance, Rod Kershaw and Tim Pointon)

Rod Kershaw is a Fellow and Life Member of Paramedics Australasia (previously known as the Institute of Ambulance Officers and the Australian College of Ambulance Professionals).  Mr Kershaw held office at both a state and national level, culminating in his continuous tenure as the national President from 1995 until 2002. During his Presidency he sponsored and developed a series of activities including the National Recognition Program (which allowed paramedics to transfer across state borders), began the push for the national registration of Ambulance Officers and Paramedics, and the development of the Med Exchange program allowing members to travel to and work in Great Britain and New Zealand.

Mr Kershaw was a member of SA Ambulance Service and its antecedent organisations from 1970 until his retirement in 2008. Over this period he worked with distinction in a range of areas, including on-road operations as a Paramedic, Station Officer, District Manager, Operations Manager, Training Officer, State Communications Supervisor, and had direct involvement with the progression of the Alpha program (the precursor to the current Intensive Care Paramedic program).

More recently, he has been responsible for the SAAS Peer Support Program which provides peer support for Ambulance Officers and Paramedics who have been involved in critical incidents. This particular program has been largely responsible for the dramatic drop in stress-related claims and is so successful that it has extended into other emergency services and, more recently, as a joint endeavour with St John Australia. In 2002 he was awarded for his outstanding contributions to the field of Critical Stress Incident Management. He was involved in the establishment of the Road Trauma Support Team of SA Association, and is also a past Chair of that organisation. He holds a Graduate Diploma in Social Science (Counselling).

Mr Kershaw was granted the Ambulance Service Medal (ASM) on 12 June, 2006. He is also a Member of The Order of St John.

Mr Kershaw’s outstanding involvement in a number of areas has benefited Paramedics Australasia and SAAS, and the South Australia community greatly.

Past Kershaw Scholars:

2013: Angela Evans

2012: Grant Gallagher visited Israel and met with volunteers and career staff about why they provide the service they do to their communities.

2011: Glen Cuttance travelled to the UK to continue his studies in major incident response and management.

2010: Chris Cotton was awarded the scholarship and travelled to the USA to gain information about latest treatments, procedures and research.

2009: Jacinta Angley was selected for the scholarship and traveled to the USA to examine improved cardiac arrest outcomes in local emergency medical systems.

More Information:

Please contact the SA Chapter at